Terroir

 

The basis of all wine's taste is the concept "terroir" which means the interplay of soil and microclimate. With nearly 2,000 hours of sun per year, the Thermenregion winegrowing region surrounding Tattendorf and Gumpoldskirchen is one of Austria's sunniest and driest regions. This guarantees that grapes grown here quite regularly attain optimum ripeness and that variety-specific aromas develop to their fullest. The constant movement of air between the plain in the east and the chain of hills to the north quickly dries the plants after precipitation, keeping the grapes healthy and protecting them from mold right up to peak ripeness. The soil, characterized by brown earth, alluvial gravel and conglomerates, offers ideal conditions for the cultivation of high-quality wine grapes.

 

The Tattendorf terroir

The soil around Tattendorf is particularly interesting from a geological standpoint. Here the thermal fault line runs from south to north, and an ancient sea has left its remains. Massive amounts of coarse, washed-up material "alluvial gravel" are deposited in the stony "Tattendorfer Steinfeld". All in all, it is particularly good soil for the cultivation of Burgundy varieties.
The individual growing locations in Tattendorf.

The Gumpoldskirchen terrior

In the vineyards of Gumpoldskirchen, the grapevines grow in more nutrient-rich soil and at up to 400 meters elevation. For many generations, it has been known that Zierfandler and Rotgipfler highly expressive grape varieties now grown nowhere else in the world but in and around Gumpoldskirchen are capable of producing excellent grapes under these conditions.
The individual growing locations in Gumpoldskirchen.

Das Terroir

 

Die Grundlage allen Weingeschmacks ist das Terroir, worunter das Zusammenspiel von Boden und Kleinklima verstanden wird. Mit knapp 2000 Sonnenstunden pro Jahr ist das Weinland Thermenregion um Tattendorf und Gumpoldskirchen eine der sonnenreichsten und trockensten Regionen in Österreich. Das gewährleistet, dass die Trauben mit schöner Regelmäßigkeit einen optimalen Reifegrad erlangen und sich die sortentypischen Aromen bestens ausbilden. Die stete Luftbewegung zwischen der Ebene im Osten und der Hügelkette im Norden bewirkt auch ein rasches Trocknen der Reben nach Niederschlägen, wodurch die Trauben auch zur Zeit der Hochreife gesund und von Pilzbefall verschont bleiben. Die von Braunerde, Alluvialschotter und Konglomeraten geprägten Böden bieten ideale Bedingungen für die Kultivierung hochwertiger Weinreben.

Terroir Tattendorf

Die Böden um Tattendorf sind besonders reizvoll von ihren geologischen Aspekten. Die Thermenbruchlinie verläuft in dieser Region von Süd nach Nord, ein Urmeer hat seine Uferreste hinterlassen. Gewaltige Mengen grobkörniges Schwemmland „Alluvialschotter” befinden sich daher im Tattendorfer Steinfeld abgelagert. Gesamthaft ein vorzüglicher Boden für die Kultivierung von Burgundersorten. Die Lagen in Tattendorf.

Terroir Gumpoldskirchen

In den Weingärten von Gumpoldskirchen gedeihen die Reben auf nährstoffreicheren Böden und in Höhenlagen von bis zu 400 Metern. Seit vielen Generationen weiß man, dass Zierfandler und Rotgipfler - ausdrucksstarke Rebsorten, die weltweit nur noch im Raum um Gumpoldskirchen kultiviert werden - unter diesen Bedingungen vorzügliche Trauben erbringen können.
Die Lagen in Gumpoldskirchen.